Random Thoughts. But this one I'm writing.

·

1 min read

As always, was working in the shell. Trying to make a new habit of using pipenv to manage python3 files. And after an ls, I saw the nasty __pycache__ directory. Immediately my fingers moved and before I realize there's this:

akrasia@void ~/Codebase/wss  rm __pycache__            
rm: cannot remove '__pycache__': Is a directory

I frequently get this. And I make aliases too often. rmrf looks nice, I thought. But since I'm modifying rm why not make it go to .trash instead. So, after a quick google, I found this answer. But wouldn't it be nice, if I could make a log out of these actions. And i could navigate through them. And furthermore, I can make something like .begin, .savepoint and .commit to apply changes from rmtrash to rm. And I could even add other frequent commands I apply in the server. Maintaining a database, tracking changes, like using a git.

And I realize, that's how someone thought of the these similar things, on a grand scale, implemented it, and we know it as docker